"HTTP request failed" when testing Android html5 (Eclipse + Phonegap) app....

Apr 9, 2013 at 5:14 PM
Hi, first of all, Im sorry for any grammar mistakes, english is not my native... Im really new in app development so Im going to try and explain this in the best way...

I create and app for Android using html5 code (generate by the SAP Gateway plugin for Eclipse), basically the app calls up a service URL located in a remote but accessible server (a SAP Gateway Server), when I run the app in a J2EE server from Eclipse it runs perfectly, the problem is when i run it as an Android app, both on the device or in the emulator, it loads me the Error "HTTP request failed"...

From the server side I think its all ok, I can manually acces de Odata from any broswer (both mobile and local) so I think is jsut a matter of configuration within the datajs or the app itself...

Doing some research I found that it may be a problem that can be fixed by adding the code:

OData.defaultHttpClient.enableJsonpCallback = true;

The problem is that I dont understand the base of the problem and where to add this code (if it is the potential fix)...

Any help would be apreciated...
Thanks!
Apr 9, 2013 at 8:45 PM
I manage to trace back the error by executing the app from a browser and using the Developer Tools, It seems that the error is 401 Unanthorized type, It seems (and it makes sense) that within the aplication itself theres no popup windows that ask for the credentials that need to be supplied for gaining access, I say it makes sense because the only way I can execute my app is when I do it on a J2EE server and thats executed trough the IE enviroment... Im kind of lost here, how do I tell my app the credentials if by default they are not being requested?

Thanks!
Coordinator
Apr 9, 2013 at 10:10 PM
Hi AndrueDLT,
  • In order to give the service the credentials, you can embed the values in the request in the form: